Thursday Progress Reports – My Year of Learning

This is my first Progress Report of the year.  Let’s see if my lists and calendars have been doing me any good thus far.

  1. Read 4 books – I’ve read about 100 more pages in Casual Vacancy since the beginning of the year.
  2. Keep up the Debediah project – No real progress on this yet.
  3. Learn to play an instrument – I have a keyboard on the premises.  Now I gotta figure out the best way to attack keyboard lessons.
  4. Lose 12 lbs – I’ve noticed that my weight fluctuates anywhere from 2 – 8 lbs every week, even when I workout regularly and restrict my calories.  I think that I bloat up when I sleep less and eat more junk, even if I eat fewer calories.  I’m going to start weighing myself when I wake up every morning to see if that’s what is actually happening.
  5. Workout 1 hour per week – I skipped a couple of workouts last week because my knee and foot were bothering me.  Plus, I was very tired because I’d been only managing about four hours of sleep a night.  Otherwise, I’ve been good with this.
  6. Knit 4 projects – I’m more than halfway done knitting Amanda’s sunglasses bag now, but then I’ll seam it and add a closure of some sort.
  7. Work on The Comic – Haven’t done anything here either.  I’m trying to get a few weeks of blog posts ready ahead of time so that I’m not constantly working on this blog.  If I have blogs ready to post weeks ahead, then I can take an extra morning or evening each week to work on other projects instead.
  8. Keep up this blog – So far, so good!
  9. Practice drawing/Gimp/Inkscape – I try to do some sort of Inkscape drawing for each blog post.  Last weekend, I did a lesson that reminded me how to work on gradients and shading.
  10. Learn to code – Nothing yet.

Thinking about this post this week, I realized that I had more goals for myself this year than I thought I had.  I was thinking of this as My Year of Learning, but then I remembered that I’ve only been out of school since March of last year and that I spent all of last year learning how to do a new job.  Every year is a Year Of Learning for me because that’s just who I am.  When my grandfather passed away years ago, I found boxes filled with spiral notebooks, textbooks, and certificates for all of the classes he had taken at community colleges throughout his life.  I guess I got the Learning Gene from my grandfather.  So even if all I really get accomplished this year is maintaining this blog and becoming familiar with Inkscape, then I don’t think I’ll have let myself down at all.

Couldn't get the pasting paths thing to work at all (note my claw at the top), but here's what I did with this tutorial.

Couldn’t get the pasting paths thing to work (note my claw at the top), but here’s what I did with this tutorial.

5 thoughts on “Thursday Progress Reports – My Year of Learning

  1. check youtube for free piano lesson videos. i bookmarked a good series at home but i don’t have the link with me here.

    we should learn piano and gimp together, and then when we’re on tour with our piano band we can make our own posters.

    • YouTube was my first thought, but I already know how to read music, so I was wondering if I should just find some sheet music. Then I was wondering if I should start by re-learning to play the songs I learned in 2nd grade (“Jingle Bells”, “Frere Jacques”, etc.) or jump into trying to play a pop/jazz song that I like.

      I’m up for touring the world and Gimp pimping ourselves, haha!

  2. You’re doing nicely with the blog so far 🙂 You can cross out number 8! How’s number 1 going? I’m reading Ford County by John Grisham…it is sooo good! If you’re into short stories, this is a great book. I’ve also finished Grisham’s The Firm again a couple of weeks ago. Wow! What an awesome book. Anyway, those are pretty good to read. Do you have any recommendations? As for number 3? Go for it. Best way to do it? Try a quick Grade 1 book on chords to start, then you can move from there to Grade 1 theory. Yeah, I play 🙂 Good luck!

    • I manage to get through more audiobooks than physical books lately and I haven’t been reading much this week. I did finish The Wind Through the Keyhole (in audiobook form) by Stephen King. It was okay, but not my favorite from the Dark Tower series. The only John Grisham book I’ve ever read was A Time to Kill, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I liked the movie, but I was surprised at how much more I liked the book. I just added Ford County to my To Read List based on your recommendation 🙂 I always suggest The Little Book by Selden Edwards to people. It takes place in Vienna in the late 1800s. Getting a Grade 1 book for the keyboard is a good idea. I learned the basics over 20 years ago, so I should probably re-learn so that I don’t get too frustrated and give up right away. Thanks for the compliments and suggestions!

      • I haven’t read any of the Dark Tower series by King, but it’s been on my To Read list for quite some time, so I’m not sure when I’ll get to it. Nevertheless, thanks for recommending The Little Book by Selden Edwards. I’ll definitely look for it once I’m done Grisham’s book!

Leave a Reply

