Thursday Progress Reports – ???

I had such difficulty trying to figure out what I’d say for this progress report that I kept putting it off entirely.  Should I just skip the post this week?  Should I make this a monthly installment?  Should I report on the progress of things that weren’t included in my list of goals for this year?  Should I do a reader poll to see what my mom readers think I should do?

Then, I realized that part of why I couldn’t figure out what to do was because I didn’t want to admit to myself how lazy I’ve been about my goals so far.  These aren’t resolutions made for the sake of having them.  These are things that I actually want to do, need to do, and thought that I was ready to commit to doing.  I started out strong on some of these things, but have really slacked off on everything but blogging at this point, which surprises me.  The amount of work it takes me to plan, write, proofread, and illustrate each post…I just kinda thought I would have given up by now.  So I’m proud of myself for at least being gung ho about one goal this year.  (What the hell does “gung ho” actually mean?  I’d google it, but I’m kind of in the middle of something right now and I’ll forget later.)

Even so, I’m mostly focused on how disappointed I am with myself about not being gung ho (that’s right I’m gonna use it again and again until someone tells me what it means) about other things on the list.  I should have finished Amanda’s sunglasses bag by now.  I should have finished Casual Vacancy by now.  I was working out three times a week, but have slacked off on that for both legitimate and Pinterest-related reasons.

By Wednesday night, I found myself playing games on my phone instead of doing any of the things that I should have been doing — that I would have preferred doing.  This was because I was disappointed in myself for not being gung ho about every goal on my list.  I realize that it’s okay to be more excited about some goals than others, but that doesn’t make me feel better.

I decided to start this blog for fun, to practice my CG skills, and to have online marketing portfolio of sorts.  When I started, I knew that I wouldn’t really know exactly what would work until I tried it, which is why I split the posts into three themes.  The progress reports are making me dread the one thing that I’ve been gung ho about this year.  So, new strategy.  I’m only going to check in when I have something exciting to say.  Well, maybe not exciting, but you know, something other than “I finished the October issue of Real Simple magazine this week.”  (That’s true, by the way.)  So, yeah, the Progress Reports will not be as frequent, but they’ll pop up occasionally.

Examples of my gung ho-ery thus far:

 

4 thoughts on “Thursday Progress Reports – ???

  1. I’m right there with you. I had so much planned for this week that I haven’t done. Then again, what I realized is that I was trying to have too many goals; trying to cram too much into each day with my To-Do list in a way that was just unrealistic logistically. My suggestion would be to focus on ONE of your goals each day and see where you get. I think it’s actually easier to get more done that way.

    • Yeah, my goals don’t really work that way though. Like, I can’t focus on my health one day and ignore it on other days. I tried to divide my times to focus on my non-health goals one at a time, but each blog post ends up taking up two days (one for writing, one for illustrating). I’m trying to set aside time on the weekends to write a few posts ahead of time, but it hasn’t worked out well the past three weeks. Then there’s the working Monday – Friday, plus some evenings and weekends, and all my other chores and errands. Anyway, tonight’s going to be a reading night, so I’m going to try not to get distracted by other things so I can read tonight, but I’m also on call, so it’s not entirely up to me. Anyway, we’ll see.

  2. wikipedia says:
    Gung ho (pron.: /ˈɡʌŋˈhoʊ/) is a term in American English used to mean “enthusiastic” or “dedicated”.
    Gung ho is an anglicised pronunciation of “gōng hé” (工合), which is also sometimes anglicised as “kung ho”. Gōng hé is a shortened version and slogan of the “gōngyè hézuòshè” (工業合作社) or Chinese Industrial Cooperatives, which was abbreviated as INDUSCO in English.
    The two Chinese characters “gōng” and “hé” are translated individually as “work” and “together”.

    also, i was in the same boat re: not wanting to work on anything but my blog last month. i’m not sure what changed, but i’m doing better with my health/fitness stuff lately and i just started my coaching program full of energy for that. so i don’t know what to say to help, just that i’ve been there too.

    at least the blog is going strong. maybe you can make thursdays your pinterest recap day 😉

    • Erica posted the same explanation on my FB page this morning 🙂

      I’m not sure what’s going on with me really. I know the last time I was trying to get things together, I just had a hard time staying motivated to do things. Slowly, I would do a few things, build on them, and then add more. Then when I went back to school, that all slowly went away. So I’m just trying to figure out how to get myself motivated to do more stuff. I suspect it’s a momentum issue – I’ve been at rest awhile, so it’s going to take plenty of effort to get things going.

Leave a Reply

