Random Saturdays – Tortellini Tofu Soup and Nutmeg Tofu

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this on the blog yet, but I like to cook.  Kinda.  Not every day, but you know, once or twice a week is okay.  Same goes with baking, even though that’s more like once or twice a month, and even less from May – September when it’s over 80° F on most days.  Boo, heat!  I do know that I have previously discussed what a rebel I am.  I cut my hair shoulder-length when I was a teenager, I’m a vegetarian, and I enforce Street Justice via dollar bin socks and portable dry erase boards.  So when you combine my culinary interests with my strong sense of rebellion, you get, you know, dinner.  It also means that I can’t follow a recipe.

Over the past couple of months, I’ve been alternating between trying new recipes that I found on Pinterest with trying new recipes that I found in Real Simple.  One of the recipes from Pinterest was for Tortellini Florentine Soup.  The directions are easy, but I still couldn’t follow them.

Ingredients

  • One 9 ounce package refrigerated three-cheese tortellini whole wheat three-cheese tortellini
  • Two 14 ounce cans reduced-sodium chicken broth Buncha homemade veggie broth from the freezer
  • One 10 ounce container refrigerated light Alfredo pasta sauce
  • 2 cups shredded deli-roasted chicken 1 container firm tofu
  • 1/2 cup oil-packed dried tomato strips, drained 1 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • Half of a 5 ounce package (about 3 cups) 6 oz package fresh baby spinach
  • Shaved or shredded Parmesan cheese (optional)

The results were delicious and I moved the pin from my To Try board to my Tested and Approved board, even though the recipe that I tried was completely different from the recipe on the board.  Next time I make that soup, I probably won’t make it the same way either.  Like I said, I’m a rebel.

I must be the only person left on the planet who hasn't mastered the Instagram food photo

I must be the only person left on the planet who hasn’t mastered the Instagram food photo

I had another package of tofu that I wanted to use up this week, so I decided to just sauteé some tofu and make vegetable fried rice.  I’ve done this many times before, no big deal.  I cut up the tofu into cubes and tossed them into a bowl.  I added Filipino soy sauce (the kind I grew up with and, subsequently, like better than any other soy sauce), white wine vinegar (because I didn’t have any rice wine vinegar), a splash of sesame oil, a splash of peanut oil, garlic powder, onion powder, ground pepper, and ground ginger.  I also added an ingredient so secret that I didn’t even know I was supposed to add it – ground nutmeg.  Nine times out of ten, if you hear about a savory dish with a secret ingredient, that ingredient turns out to be nutmeg or Worcestershire sauce.  (Yes, I’ve done the math.)  So when I realized that I had thrown in nutmeg instead of ginger, I just shrugged and added ginger to the mix.  I arranged the tofu into a single layer in a sauteé pan, turning it once to get it crispy.  I gotta say, once everything was done, the tofu was really great! *pats self on back*

I don’t always cook with tofu, but these two experiments did involve tofu.  I actually made some sweet potato burgers recently, but other than leaving out the panko, I don’t remember how I changed it.  I doubt that I’ll try that recipe again because I have a recipe for kidney bean burgers that I like better than the sweet potato burgers.  I’m trying remember to write down my recipe alterations though so that I can try to recreate them if I get the urge.  Hence, this blog post 🙂

One thought on “Random Saturdays – Tortellini Tofu Soup and Nutmeg Tofu

Leave a Reply

