Random Saturdays – Music Edition: Sara Bareilles “Stay” and Damien Rice “Delicate”

I’m a sucker for songs that have certain instruments (i.e. string orchestras, pianos, nylon brushes on drums) or mention certain topics (ex. breathing/air, oceans, souls, rebirth, etc.)  I’m discovering that I also like songs that say something along the lines of, “Stay tonight and we’ll make the most of it because in the morning one of us will be gone.”   I’m not sure why I like songs about the last topic, since they don’t tend to be relevant in my daily life.  Then again, there are the songs that are just about hooking up, and there are the songs that rip your heart out of your chest, throw it on the ground, and jump on top of it a few times;  I prefer the latter.  So, I suppose I just enjoy songs that evoke a strong emotional response.

About a month ago, I discovered that Sara Bareilles released “Once Upon Another Time” in 2012, an EP of which I was not previously aware.  When I heard “Stay”, I knew I had to buy the album.  The song reminded me of something, but I couldn’t figure out what.  After listening to it four or five times, I realized that it reminded me of the Damien Rice song, “Delicate”.  Now, I can’t listen to one song without thinking of the other.

Sara Bareilles “Stay” (lyrics video)
The beginning of the second verse really gets to me:  “My hands are shaking/This is a/complicated love affair”.  Then, my heart breaks just after the second chorus with the way she sings, “I don’t wanna cry/I know we’ll get to tomorrow/And say goodbye/That’s why I’m asking for tonight”.


Damien Rice “Delicate” (lyrics video)
The lyrics in this video aren’t completely accurate, the major flaw being that the song says, “I might take you home” instead of “We might take it home”, but I like the image used and the way the lyrics fade in and out throughout the video.  The part that really throws my heart on the ground is the last refrain of the chorus, when Rice’s voice goes into falsetto and cracks.  That’s kind of his thing, but I like it.


Now that your heart is thoroughly broken, I think it’s a good time to end this Music Edition of Random Saturdays.  Tune in tomorrow for Sorrowful Sundays, when I’ll feature all of those SPCA videos of homeless animals as Sarah McLachlan plays in the background!

2 thoughts on “Random Saturdays – Music Edition: Sara Bareilles “Stay” and Damien Rice “Delicate”

  1. I LOVE Sara Bareilles! Have you heard her new song, “Brave?” It’s from her upcoming album to be released this summer, I think, but I heard “Brave” on the radio the other day, and it’s an awesome anthem.

Leave a Reply

