Random Saturdays – Moving Lessons

I don’t particularly like moving.  In fact, I hate moving.  I think most people hate moving.  With every move, though, I learn something about life and the Art of Moving.  Here’s a list of what I’ve learned so far.

1.  Less time labelling means less time packing, which leads to a faster unpacking process.
I’m naturally organized, so, I used to keep a list of every item contained in every box.  Now, I make a note of the things I will need the night that I move (eg. toothpaste and toilet paper) and which boxes those things are in so that I can unpack those first.  Since I don’t know what’s in any of the other boxes, I just unpack them all as quickly as possible.

2.  No matter how well you plan, there is no way that everything will be ready for the date and time promised.
This is true with most things in life.  However, when I call a company up to say, “Hello.  I would like to start giving you money on such and such date,” you kind of expect to have services/products on that date.  I got electricity at my new place on the agreed upon time, but everything else had issues of some sort.

3.  You will never have internet access on your first day in your new place.
I have yet to have internet access at a new place on the date promised.  This time around, after a week and four different visits from technicians, I finally have internet, but only on the phone jack in the den because the apartment complex placed sheetrock over the main outlet in the bedroom.  Thankfully, I have WiFi, which is fine, but my streaming entertainment services may suffer a bit.

4.  Other people stink, especially smokers.
The previous tenants in my apartment clearly smoked and my new neighbors smoke.  I walk into my apartment and my nose and throat immediately close up on me and my eyes dry out and get itchy.  Plus, my new neighbors seem to really like boiled chicken because I can smell them cooking it every two or three days.  However, I’m Filipina and get cravings for foods cooked in vinegar.  So, when I decide to cook my vinegary foods, I don’t wanna hear nothin’ from no one.

5.  Crazy neighbors love welcoming you to the neighborhood.
On the day that I moved in, I went to the office to get my apartment keys and a crazy lady accosted me and one of the office ladies.  She was angry that she had lost her mail key and had to come to the office to borrow their copy every time she needed to check her mail.  That crazy fool turned out to be my neighbor.  When I came back to let the movers in, she was standing outside of her door and yelled at me, “You better watch your stuff!  They’ll take it!  They look at your stuff when you’re not here!”  I didn’t know if she meant the movers, the maintenance people, my neighbors, or random strangers, but she had me paranoid.  I wanted to say, “Well too effing late now!  A whole helluva lotta good your crappy advice does me now, you effing crazy nut!”  (But with more cussing.)

6.  If you pay movers to move your stuff, let them move your stuff — all of it.
You may feel like letting a dude who can lift your couch, carry it downstairs, put it in a truck, and bring it into a new place by himself is wasting his talents by moving your shoe rack, but it’s all the same to him.

7.  Pay all of your bills for the month of your move before you actually move.
I did that this time and am so thankful.  I lose track of time when I’m moving, so I’m not as aware that my credit card is due by the 26th and that today is the 25th as I would be at any other time.  This time, I just paid everything during the first week of July and am done with it until later in August.  Sure, plenty of my bills are on autopay, but some of them aren’t.

8.  Update your address with the important companies first (i.e. magazine subscriptions).
I used to just turn in the mail forwarding form at the post office.  The last time I moved, though, a book that I pre-ordered went to my old address and I had to put a note on the door of my old apartment, hoping that the new person would contact me and arrange a meeting to give me my book.  This time, I updated all of the most important companies with my new address before I moved and have yet to miss a single magazine.

9.  Splurge on electricity.
I normally keep my apartment around 80° in the summer and around 68° in the winter to save money and conserve energy.  I compensate with fans and dressing accordingly.  When I move in the summer in Texas, I crank up the A/C and keep it on until all of the heavy lifting, moving, and heavy unpacking is done.

10.  Take a nap.
I’m a big proponent of naps anyhow, especially during the hottest part of the day in the summer, but I get so busy and stressed with moving that I really need a nap in the middle of the day to keep myself from collapsing.   Also, I don’t have to worry about not sleeping that night because I’m still so exhausted from all of the moving and unpacking.

I hope these tips help you prepare for any moving that you may do in the future, except for Zumba.  (← Bad joke, I know, but I can’t bring myself to delete it.)

Leave a Reply

