Random Saturdays – Dallas Road Trip Oh Thirteen, pt 2

In case you missed it, here is Part 1 of Dallas Road Trip Oh Thirteen.

On the last day of the Road Trip, we tried White Rock Coffee.  Growing up in Dallas, we have always wanted to try it, but just never got around to it.  If you can get over the crazy parking lot, it’s a really cool place with good food and good coffee.  The reviews online say that it’s so much better than Starbucks, but I gotta be honest and say that I think it’s exactly on par with Starbucks.  The prices are also similar, but White Rock Coffee isn’t a big chain, so going there is a good way to support a small local business.

When we finished there, we had to get gas before driving around to look for some older Dallas High Schools.  We drove by a Public Storage and Amanda said, “Look, Angela, all of our RV parking problems are solved!”  There was a line of RVs parked at the back of Public Storage, and for whatever reason, we started laughing hysterically.  When we got to the QT at the end of the block, we pulled up at the gas pump behind this vehicle:

Frequent Stops and Backing

So much backing, so little time

This did nothing to quiet down our laughing fit.  After we got gas, we headed back up the street and I suggested that Amanda drop me off so that I could walk up to Public Storage to get a good picture.  Then, she could pick me up when I was done.  She joked about how her picking me up by the side of the road was a recurring thing this Road Trip.  Our efforts were worth it, though, because I was able to send this gem of a tweet:

I don’t think I ever explained “TBD” on here.  On the Saturday morning after Amanda and I tried to get drunk, but just went through perimenopause, we went to Einstein Bros for bagels and coffee.  While there, we got on the topic of her $45,000 goal again, and began discussing her options for promotions at work vs. looking for another job.  Amanda works on commission and said, “I make, I mean, I don’t know how this year will go with all the changes, it’s to be dete– TBD! TBD!  I make TBD!”  So, of course, we now take every opportunity we get to say, “TBD”.

Once we were all gassed up (heh, heh), we went by the Maya Angelou High School.  Then, we went to see some schools in Oak Cliff and South Dallas, some of which we forgot existed.  When we neared the VA Hospital, we started joking about how we’d be hot commodities in there since we’re young(ish), have jobs, and are relatively healthy.  Then, we came across the Barak Obama Male Leadership Academy, which neither of us had ever heard of before.  Reading up on it, the school is pretty impressive and is definitely in a part of town that really needs this type of empowering education for young boys.

We headed back towards Amanda’s part of town and decided to try Cafe Mexicano.  The bar area stunk like stagnant water, but the rest of the restaurant was fine.  We sat in an area with a bunch of piñatas hanging from the ceiling.  It was about 3 pm on a Tuesday, so the place was dead, which made us feel like the piñatas were hung up to celebrate our presence.

When we finished lunch, we headed across the street for Gigi’s Cupcakes.  We both got chocolate salted caramel cupcakes that we ate there, and I got a wedding cake cupcake to go.  As you may or may not know, wedding cake is not the same as regular cake.  It’s special, and you only get it at weddings.  So, if I see something wedding cake-flavored, I’ve gotta try it.  We were disappointed in the chocolate salted caramel cupcakes.  I love frosting and the salt offset the sweetness a bit, but there was just too much of the sickeningly sweet frosting.  Since we were standing up and eating the cupcakes without utensils, it was difficult to get to the cake itself, which was moist, chocolatey, and filled with caramel.  It was an okay cupcake, but too damn sweet.  I had the wedding cake cupcake later and it was much better.  The frosting had just a hint of sweetness and the cake was rich in texture, but not too dense.  After the cupcakes, Amanda and I headed back to her place to end our Road Trip with a movie marathon of Dune (man, I just could not get into that movie), Madea Gets a Job (funny and true), and Madea Goes To Jail (which we actually ended up watching the following weekend and I forgot that I had already seen it anyway.)

We both had to work the next day.  When I got off work on Wednesday, there was a pretty sunset.  Since we kept joking about missing the sunsets on our Road Trip, I took a picture and texted it to Amanda.

Return to Work Sunset

“I am seeing the sunset.”

She texted back:

Drive-Thru Sunset

“Nothing like the day after vacation.”

Leave a Reply

