Random Saturdays – Fight Night

A few years back, Erica’s husband, Richard, started watching MMA fights.  They started hosting Fight Night at their apartment, and a few of us would get together to eat, drink, chat, and watch the fights.  Over time, Erica became a big fan of Lyoto Machida.  At first, it was a combination of his name (Your cheetah?  No, my cheetah!) and the fact that he was always so polite and gracious no matter the outcome of the fight.  Eventually, she grew to love his dimples and possibly other things nice scarves.  When Machida was slated for a fight a couple of weeks back, Erica saw it as a perfect opportunity to welcome Ben to the family and add another member to her personal Machida Fanclub.  Plus, it was the start of a two-week long celebration of Erica’s birthday.  What could be better than nachos and Machida for Erica’s birthday?!

The fights started at 2 pm on a Saturday, but Machida wouldn’t be fighting until much later.  One of Erica’s old work friends, Doug, was there too.  The only kid present was Eva, Erica’s daughter, who is a toddler.  Erica and I have also been talking about trying drinks from Pinterest since we discovered the site.  After looking it over, we decided to stick to champagne and fruit juice, you know, to class the place up and junk.

The day of the fight, everyone gathered at Erica and Richard’s house to start shoving nachos down our gullets.  At some point in the evening, Erica and I decided that we wanted tiny bottles of liquor.  We had grown accustomed to these in the year before Eva was born.  In fact, the last birthday Erica had before getting pregnant ended with a bucket of tiny empty liquor bottles and me laying on the floor calling out for her cat because I just wanted to snuggle up with a kitty and go to sleep.  That was the one and only time that I have ever been that drunk, and I see no reason for it happening ever again.  Moving on…

As my boyfriend, Ben was also my designated driver.  He took Erica and me up the street for our tiny bottles of liquor.  They had fancy rums and vodkas that tasted like strawberry sundaes and cake.  Erica also partook in the tiny bottles of whiskey. (Blech!)  We got back to the house, only to realize that we didn’t actually have anything to drink with the liquor.  So, Ben kindly took us to a convenience store for Sprite, Coke, and a last-minute request from me for candy.

At this point, nobody was drunk.  Erica and I were a little tipsy, but sober enough to know not to drive or try doing our taxes.  An hour or two later, we were both drunk.  (We were also the only ones drunk, so Eva still had 3 mostly responsible adults looking after her until she went to bed an hour later.  It is very important that anyone reading this understand that Erica and I would never get drunk with Eva if it were only the three of us.  Also, we didn’t intend to get that drunk, but the Eva bit is more important.)  Also of note, I am a very nice drunk.  I love everyone when I’m drunk.  Everyone is my friend and I want to tell everyone exactly why he or she is my friend.  As soon as I’m done with that, I want to go to sleep.  Immediately.  I’m not sure if it’s because I didn’t have whiskey or because I continued eating nachos throughout the day, but I became my normal I-Love-You/Menopausal drunk self while Erica…well…yeah.

I learned some important things that night, though.

  1. I’m glad that I’m an I-Love-You/Menopausal drunk.
  2. As much as I like chocolate, I’m always disappointed when it’s in liquor form.
  3. Ben and I eat our candy bars in the same, exact, weird way.

All in all, I had alot of fun.  I can’t say the same for the toilet, though:

Also, Machida won the fight.

Machida won his fight, but the toilet lost.

Leave a Reply

