Random Saturdays – Lake Trip Withdrawls

Last weekend, I hung out with some girlfriends at the lake and had more fun than I’d had in a long time.  I can’t remember the last time that I really had that much time away from work, job searching, studying, cleaning, paying bills, small town football, or even my husband.  That’s not to say that I don’t love spending time with my family, but the lake trip was a break that I didn’t realize I needed.

We drove in two separate vehicles at two separate times and had two sets of travelling stories to compare.  Within the first hour of driving, we already had jokes that will never die, involving such phrases as, “the Liquor Depot” and “cute little road”.  You just never know what kind of stuff will be hilarious when you’re with friends, right?  By the end of Friday night, two of the three women already had new nicknames.  We tried very hard on Friday night to get drunk, but none of us got more than tipsy.  We ate our combined weight in pasta, bread, and cookies too.  We played games, made up jokes, and just had a blast in general.  That was all Friday night.

Saturday, everyone got gussied up in someway (except for me).  I think it’s really cool how much hair and makeup can transform you, but I’m far too lazy and my skin is much too sensitive to do any of that regularly.  This was a special event and I should have gotten all fancy, but I chose to meditate, doze, and crack jokes instead.  We treated ourselves to pedicures that afternoon.  I have never had a pedicure before, but it was amazing.  I had a middle-aged Vietnamese lady who really knew how to work the knots out of my foot.  I meditated during the massage and while my toes dried, and felt completely relaxed by the time we left.  It was a bit expensive for my tastes, but I’m glad I did it.  Since I have some pretty strict personal policies regarding my feet and nail polish, I might try it again some day before I die, but not any time soon.

That night, we barely drank at all and were completely sober.  I think we may have had an even better time than the night before.  We are just such a good group of friends and balance each other out so well and I am in love with us.  If I saw a group of friends like us on tv, I would add them to my Imaginary BFFs board on Pinterest.  We did some more impressions with T-Rex arms, played some Cards Against Humanity, sang along to a billion songs, and stuffed our faces with burritos, nachos, cookies, and chocolate covered strawberries.  It was every bit as much fun as the first night.

Sunday was time to leave, so we cleaned up and headed home.  We stopped at a local restaurant on the way out of town, which turned out to be closed.  So we defied death by crossing the street to get to another local restaurant whose sign said, “ALWAYS OPEN”.  It was pretty good home cooking with lots of grease and carbs.  On the way home, each group sent each other texts about our weekend of jokes to remind us all of how hilarious we think we are.  My car group stopped at the Dutchman’s Hidden Valley on the way home to stock up on souvenirs and handmade truffles.

Before we even got home, real life started settling in on my car group and we got pretty bummed.  Ben had to remind me that vacations are not supposed to be like real life and that’s why we look forward to them.  Bah!  The ladies and I have been texting and Facebooking each other ever since we left the cabin, telling ourselves how funny we are and taking our jokes way too far.

It’s crazy how we all live in the metroplex and still find it so difficult to get together.  We all have different families, different jobs, different routines, and even different tastes in liquor.  This is the case with most of my friends in the metroplex.  It used to make me very anxious and guilt-ridden that I couldn’t spend equal amounts of time with all of the people who are important to me.  Now, I understand that sometimes you will spend more time with some people than others, and that doesn’t necessarily mean that you are neglecting the other people.  When you get together, you will pick up where you left off and make a slew of in-jokes in less than 10 minutes.  That is how you know that you have quality friends.  They will make hilariously inappropriate jokes about the rough times in order to help you get through the rough times.

2 thoughts on “Random Saturdays – Lake Trip Withdrawls

Leave a Reply

