Reviews -Chelsea Does, How to Be Single, and Dr. Strange

I haven’t done a review post in quite awhile.  With the Thanksgiving holiday coming up in the U.S., it’s a good time to watch some t.v. and movies.  Here are a few suggestions on what to watch.

Chelsea Does – This is one of Chelsea Handler‘s series on Netflix.  I turned it on while cooking dinner, thinking it would be something funny to listen to in the background.  I ended up having to start the show over once I finished cooking so that I could really pay attention to it.  My favorite episode from season one was about Racism.  She did a brilliant job of exploring America’s complicated and difficult relationship with race.  Chelsea Handler is hilarious, intelligent, and honest.  Expect to hear adult language and maybe see a boob here or there while watching the show.

How to Be Single – When I saw that Rebel Wilson and Leslie Mann were in an ensemble cast movie about being single, I knew that I’d watch it, but I didn’t have high expectations.  I can’t remember the last ensemble cast movie that I’ve liked, much less one about single ladies dating around.  (Oh wait, does Sisters count?)  It was on HBO Now, which meant that I didn’t even have to leave the house or put on pants to watch it.  It was a good movie, though.  It has plenty of cliches, but attacks them in different ways.  It’s not like other rom coms. SPOILER ALERT – At the end of the movie, all the women do not end up with handsome boyfriends/husbands who finally validate the women’s existence.

Dr. Strange – If you’re on the comic book movie bandwagon, then you have to go see this.  If you have no interest in comics, any of the books based on comics, action films, or Benedict Cumberbatch, then do not see this movie.  That’s really all there is to it. If you have the option, you should probably see it in 3-D because the visual effects are basically a character in the movie.  I was worried about this movie because Dr. Strange is, well, strange.  I love his story, but I wasn’t sure how it would translate to the big screen.  The movie is less than two hours even though most of the Marvel movies are over two hours.  How in the world were they going to explain the crazy world of Dr. Strange?  I was pretty impressed with the movie, though.  As soon as it ended, I wanted to watch it again.  I’m hoping to be able to see it again before it leaves the theaters.

Well, that’s it for my reviews for now.  There are plenty of great movies out in the theaters and ready to stream right now.  Use the holidays as a time to relax and catch up on some t.v. as well.  Or, you know, don’t.

 

Leave a Reply

