Random Saturdays – Dream Fiction

If you read my blog last weekend, you read my new experiment.  I have crazy dreams and they are very vivid.  When I tell people about my dreams, they usually ask, “What were you drinking before you fell asleep?”  The sad part is, I really don’t drink that much.  I talk about it, but I’m always too sick or too tired to drink.  So, these dreams are literally just my brain doing its own thing without the constructs of society to hold it back.  When I have migraines, it’s even worse.  Like anyone else, I’ll have dreams related to events that day or movies that I watch.  Most of the time, though, it’s just my brain having its way with me.

I also have recurring dreams.  Some of them, I’ve had since I was a little girl.  I’ll start having them when a new chapter in my life starts.  The dream will quickly go through what happened all those years ago, and then it’ll pick up and go from there.  From what I’ve read on dreams and psychology, I don’t think that’s a very common thing.  I had a psychologist tell me once that A) having vivid memories of childhood before the age of 5, B) having recurring dreams for the duration of my life, and C) dreaming in color meant that I was very in touch with my emotions.  Duh.  Then, later, I talked to other people and they don’t seem to remember much about childhood, their dreams, etc.  That seems weird to me.  Amanda and I always tell each other about our crazy dreams, we remember so much about our early childhoods, and we dream in color.  So, I thought everyone did until I became an adult and talked to people other than Amanda.

A few months ago, I wrote a little story for my T-Rex ladies that incorporated all of the in-jokes we had together.  I wrote it in text while just sitting on the couch, watching t.v.  It was just a funny little thing between friends and they loved it!  They told me that I should put it on Facebook, but I didn’t think that was a good idea.  Nobody would get our jokes.  There was some offensive stuff in there.  Meh.  Weeks later, Christina told me that she was serious when she told me that I should write more.  Meh.  “NO.  I mean it.”  She just stared at me until I changed the subject.

Still, that stuck with me.  I started thinking about my dreams and how I’d like to see movies of them so I could see how they ended instead of having to wait for my brain to work on the stories years later.  Then, I started thinking about my friends telling me to write more…

I have these never ending To Do Lists, though!  I work full-time.  There are three kids and two cats and some fish.  This house is a constant source of messiness and maintenance.  There’s cooking and cleaning.  Bills.  Books.  Email.  I spend any time when I’m not doing those things trying to sleep.  When am I going to write?

Oh.  But I have a blog.  Yeah.

I don’t write in here regularly, but if I have time to write, I might as well put some of those cool dream stories in here so that I can remember them.  Every passing day means a little more of the dream drifts away.  I have many talented friends who are writers.  Some have blogs.  Some wrote books.  Some write for online media outlets.  Some are journalists and write for the entertainment industry.  So, it’s really intimidating putting my dreams into stories and putting them online.  What else am I going to do, though?  What have I got to lose?  Like, three people read any given blog post on any given day, if that.

So, I thought I might as well give it a try.  Last week was the first one.  We’ll see how it goes.  If all else fails, I’ll just put up a buncha pics of Pad Kee because he’s the cutest friggin’ kitten ever in the world! *heart eyes*

Leave a Reply

